Live like this

I’ve lived out my melancholy youth. I don’t give a fuck anymore what’s behind me, or what’s ahead of me. I’m healthy. Incurably healthy. No sorrows, no regrets. No past, no future. The present is enough for me. Day by day. – Miller, Tropic of Cancer

How very Buddhist of you, Mr. Miller.

The closing on our new house is in six days. We have boxes to pack and Goodwill loads to deliver and closets to dig through. I have utility companies to call and carpets to clean and a dreadfully sick fish to medicate. But for now, for a while, let’s sit and love each other.

Live in the now.

Favorite things.

2 Comments

Filed under Buddhism, Mindful parenting

2 responses to “Live like this

  1. Dan

    How lovely! Great Memorial Day post. Congrats on the house and on taking the time to relish the moment.

  2. Neil Shelley

    This is the first time I’ve entered a blogg and am opening my own first blog as we speak. Whwn i typed in Living in the present I saw yours and fully concurred! Neil Shelley from stockholm Sweden.

Leave a comment