Don’t Call it a Sex Scandal

Can we stop calling this a “sex” scandal and start calling it a “rape” scandal? Yeah? Cause that’s what it is.

I’ve been watching the Penn State/Sandusky scandal grow over the past week. I wonder how I would react to this if the Kaiser were ten years old and asking me about the story. I am thankful that my son is five and that he has no interest in football. No hard questions and no hard answers. Yet.

I wonder how the parents of the protesting Penn State students felt. If I saw my 18-year old standing in solidarity on JoePa’s front lawn, I think it’d be time to pick up the cell phone. I would be ashamed if one of my children was out there chanting “one more game.” I would know I had failed as a parent. Someday, these kids will have children of their own. And maybe when that day comes and they look into their own child’s face, they’ll understand the full scope of the horror that occurred at their alma mater. 

Paul Howard, 24, an aerospace engineering student, sums it up nicely. “Of course we’re going to riot,” he said. “What do they expect when they tell us at 10 o’clock that they fired our football coach?”

Ok, let me make sure I heard you correctly. Despite our country being at war, despite gross economic woe, despite world economies failing and human suffering the world over, dude’s gonna take a militant stand over – the firing of a football coach.

Loud and clear, asshole. Loud and clear.

Joe Paterno is not the victim.

Get it right.

I believe in compassion more than I believe in just about any other virtue. Real compassion brings pain and then it breeds action. But what I’ve seen is a misplaced compassion toward Joe Paterno, and that’s something I really don’t understand. Granted, I don’t give a shit about football. I’m sorry (no I’m not), but have no interest and no real respect for collegiate or professional sports. It’s an industry, like anything else, and I think this is a prime example of how we’ve absolutely lost our way insofar as priorities.

I’m tired of hearing that Joe Paterno is a good man. How are we defining “good?” When children are being sodomized in the shower and you not only fail to act but also allow such action to be covered up, you are not a “good man.” Over the past 10 years, countless people knew that Sandusky was around young children, regularly, through the Second Mile Foundation. As recently as last week, Sandusky was working out at the Penn State athletic facilities. Joe Paterno was Sandusky’s boss. At the very least, Joe could have fired him and kept him out of the clubhouse. Who continues to work for years, day in and day out, with someone you have reason to suspect was a serial rapist of young boys?

Don’t call it “sad.” Call it disgusting. Paterno’s conduct is grossly misguided, and lamentably, so is the conduct of the mindless boobs who riot to express their anguish over Joe’s dismissal. Children were raped. Repeatedly. Let’s do a little thought exercise here. Place your son in the place of one of these boys. Get it now? Paterno is a coward, or worse.

C.S. Lewis wrote that, “Courage is not simply one of the virtues, but the form of every virtue at the testing point.” When it mattered, when it was risky, Paterno protected himself and the university’s football program. So don’t give me that “good man” shit.

Ahem. Sorry. Whew. Welcome back to the blog.

2 Comments

Filed under Current Events

2 responses to “Don’t Call it a Sex Scandal

  1. I can’t express how much I agree with you. I am disgusted with the whole thing.

  2. Dan

    While we may not be completely synced up on “occupy” I couldn’t agree with you more on this one. I do like football, but the issue must remain the young disadvantaged boys who were abused by a trusted authority figure, and the institutional paradigm that allowed the abuse to continue.

Leave a Reply

