Is he, like, a vigilante?*

I don’t really know how I feel about Easter, but then I don’t really know how I feel about God. Or Jesus. I woke, walked the dogs up to Dunkin Donuts for a coffee, signed on to Facebook and scrolled through a long list of status updates proclaiming, “He is risen!”

I was annoyed.

Maybe I’m annoyed because I don’t feel it. I didn’t wake up today overwhelmed by joy, heading out in my best dress to an Easter sunrise service. Maybe I feel like I’ve been left out of this top-secret, uber-happy club. And maybe I find it grating that folks use social media to throw out their lukewarm, half-assed theology.

Or maybe I’m just being a bitch.

In any case, I think I’m missing the point. Why am I so concerned with the faith (or lack thereof) in others? I find it so easy to slip into cynicism, to be overwhelmed by my own doubt and my ire at those who seem to have no questions at all.

This morning I had a cup of coffee on the porch and watched a chipmunk eat… whatever it is that chipmunks eat. I had a long talk with my best friend. I read and I watched Rob Bell.  It’s amazing how, by simply recognizing my own slide into uneasy misery, I can stop it. I can cease it and I can turn it around and in the same hour feel utterly overwhelmed with love. And that, I think, is God. Or I’m crazy. Either explanation seems equally plausible. 

And when Jesus died on the cross, he died for everybody. Everybody. Everywhere. Every tribe, every nation, every tongue, every people group. Jesus said that when he was lifted up, he would draw all people to himself. All people everywhere. Everybody’s sins on the cross with Jesus. So this reality, this forgiveness, this reconciliation, is true for everybody. Paul insisted that when Jesus died on the cross, he was reconciling ‘all things, in heaven and on earth, to God.’ All things, everywhere. This reality then isn’t something that we make true about ourselves by doing something. It is already true. Our choice is to live in this new reality or cling to a reality of our own making. – Rob Bell

*Karen Schultz on Jesus. 

9 Comments

Filed under Christianity

9 responses to “Is he, like, a vigilante?*

  1. Bill

    Commenting on this could take the rest of my life, but yeah, I’m annoyed too. I think it’s the capital H.

    • sarafraser

      Man, the blog could have easily taken me the better part of the day to write. It’s hard for me to articulate the annoyance; perhaps it IS the capital H. Or perhaps it’s cause people are tools.

  2. Dan

    I’m sticking to religion is a man made construct for the expression of faith. Sounds to me like your morning was a sincere expression of YOUR faith. which to me is a whole bunch more inspiring then religion. Besides, what kinda bonnet goes with a chipmunk wrap?

  3. Jonathan

    I’ve mostly avoided Facebook today because of this too. Spent a good while reading about how most Christian holidays were designed to incorporate Pagan holy dates and ritualistic elements (hello, Easter bunny – I didn’t see you in the Bible…) just to remind myself that there were others out there like me too.

    I like your point about other people not typically having any questions, because I think that is what bothers me the most about all this stuff. That or the capital H, I guess it really is a toss up.

  4. Dot

    I, too, was overwhelmed by the super-Jesus-y statuses. If that’s your thing, cool. If you wanna proclaim for all to read, cool. Just not my thing. I think I believe in God, I’m just still pretty pissed about him (no capital there) giving my dad cancer and subsequently killing him because of it. That is an ENTIRELY different story, though. I was also quite amused by the “Happy zombie Jesus day” I saw also. I thought to myself, “now, that’s more like it”.

    And I wondered aloud with the hubbs about how on earth a bunny hiding colored eggs and sneaking into your house overnight to leave you chocolate has anything to do with the celebration of Jesus rising from the tomb.

    We went to Bojangles for a quick lunch with the kiddos, played at home, got some yard work done and just enjoyed hanging out together. This year, it was just another beautiful Sunday with my guys. And that’s ok.

    • sarafraser

      Agreed — do as you will but afford me the same consideration. And your day sounds quite lovely. Any day beginning with Bojangles … guaranteed to be top notch. :>

  5. Is Karen your best friend? Cause.. really? You can delete this bc I wouldn’t want anyone’s feelings to be hurt and I am possibly an ass. But really?

Leave a Reply

