Dog > Church

I went to church on Sunday with two girlfriends from work. It was … ok. It was only ok in that I am trying, really trying, to be more open to spiritual growth but I pretty much have zero faith in anything other than the human capacity for great good and great evil. That’s about it, and the only reason I believe that is because it’s, uh, empirical fact.

In this great quest to be less cynical and more receptive, I borrowed a book by the well-respected Christian theologian John Piper. The book is called Don’t Waste Your Life and the question posed is, “How, at the end of life, will you feel about what you’ve done and for what cause?” Of course, his reference point is Christ. That’s cool with me, and I agree with a lot of his bigger points.

But reading the other night as the Kaiser was watching Thomas the Train on youtube, I stopped, put the book on my lap and resisted the urge to cry. I may have cried a little. I cried because I was hit with the real awareness that I just couldn’t… buy this shit.

No really, those were my thoughts. And as I listened to the sermonizing on Sunday morning, I realised that everything dude said was good, but essentially the same as everything I glean from Buddha’s teachings.

Where am I now in the grand search for meaning and truth? Oh, you know:

Givin' Eleanor a toupee.

5 Comments

Filed under Buddhism

5 responses to “Dog > Church

  1. Dan

    My view…..religion is a construct developed by man. Faith is the expression that religion hopes to codify. I am the most cynical dude in the world, but believe that if I live life trying (not always succeeding) to leave where I’ve been a little better then when I got there, a benevolent God will let me into heaven. The purpose for this rant is simply this….cut yourself some slack on the whole faith thing. My bet is you have a great deal more faith in things than you give yourself credit for. Just the act of searching says alot about who you are and who you are trying to be! More importantly, the toupee is darling.

  2. Jonathan

    Dan, and you, make a lot of good points. I have nearly the same reaction every time I hear somebody proselytize about any organized religion. As I believe Ghandi said, and I paraphrase, “your Christians are so unlike your Christ.” I think sometimes it is so easy for some people (notice some and not all) to say being Christians makes them good, and that not being Christian is bad. As my good friend JF always says, calling yourself a Christian doesn’t make you one any more than calling my Schwinn a Corvette makes it true.

    I agree with Dan about the fact that it is enough to simply try to be good. When it comes down to it, that’s all any of us can do. Buddhist, Christian or Atheist, all we can do is be the best people we can be and hope that is good enough. And I guess in some fashion that is faith too.

  3. sarafraser

    @Dan – Agreed on the toupee, man. I love that little dog. I particularly love that she’ll let me do things like that. And often.

    @Jonathan – Man, yes, on Ghandi. I concuuuuur, Ghandi. Any sort of legalism ROONS it for me.

  4. Jed

    As I’ve said before: Religion should be taken with a pinch of salt.

    You can’t believe everything you hear and nothing you read, but you need a bus load of faith to get by……Lou Reed.

Leave a Reply

