There’s a Reason People Say, “Hell Yes.”*

I nearly bought a rabbit last week. Nearly.

My writer’s block has been epic. Two weeks ago I posted an old flash while I “worked” on something new. Such a liiiiiie. I never picked up that project again. Thursday night I paced my apartment, running ideas through my head, dismissing everything as asinine or trite or uninteresting.

This morning I woke to Cole’s skinny arm wrapped around my neck, his warm face pressed into my cheek. He whispered that he loved me and I smiled, returned the words. Amazing how waking like that, instead of by the blare of my Blackberry, sets the tone for the remainder of the morning, perhaps even the day. We sit together – sweatpants and morning breath and messy hair – and let the day start gently.

“A wise mother knows: It is her state of consciousness that matters. Her gentleness and clarity command respect. Her love creates security.” – Vimila McClure, The Tao of Motherhood

*Quote attributed to Karen Schultz, in reference to… hell.

2 Comments

Filed under Raising Kids

2 responses to “There’s a Reason People Say, “Hell Yes.”*

  1. Dan

    How can you not smile when reading that?

Leave a Reply

