Less Bitching Now

Yesterday I corresponded with a friend I met in very early recovery, and we mused about the day-to-day bullshit that defines sobriety, that defines life. This friend mentioned that she was happy to still be sober and to have a good job. I read the simple sentence that expressed this notion and I realized how often I don’t live with that very basic sense of thankfulness for the most basic of awesome.

And now, because it’s 7:12 and I was supposed to be getting ready for work 20 minutes ago, I’m just pasting a bit of my email response here, without making it pretty:

Sober and employed are two wonderful things, great blessings really. You know this morning I got a pumpkin latte from Dunkin Donuts and I was all annoyed that it was sticky around the bottom. And then it hit me — how utterly fucking ungrateful I am to be irritated by a sticky cup. You know what I mean? I have a fucking latte and I’m driving a car to a good job. What kind of entitled bitch gets pissed off because someone accidentally spilled syrup on a paper cup? This entitled bitch. 🙂 In any case, it made me very aware that there was just so very much for which to be thankful. I forget those things often.

True, eh? It’s true. Less bitching, more happy, y’all.

4 Comments

Filed under Buddhism, Recovery

4 responses to “Less Bitching Now

  1. Karen

    I need this. I really did. I’m ungrateful. And I’m wanting. It’s gross. Thanks for the afternoon bitch slap. Loves.

  2. Dan

    so much bitch slapping, so little time

  3. Patrick

    I think everyone has seen this but me. I saw it first time a couple days ago. Louis CK.

Leave a Reply

