Writing Prompt: Wonders

I glanced through this week’s prompts and saw the word, “wonders.” My quick-to-associate-with-random-and-often-boring-concepts mind jumped to Rob Thomas’s song, “Little Wonders.”

Our lives are made
In these small hours
These little wonders
These twists and turns of fate
Time falls away
But these small hours
These small hours
Still remain

I like this. I like this because I think it nails my concept of happiness. Let’s call it contentment. There are difficult days and crappy weeks and shitty years, but I’ve found that when I break life down into the smallest of moments – everything is manageable.

There are days that the very thought of getting off work and going straight into my other job, motherhood, is overwhelming. And there are days that I find myself not just overwhelmed, but resentful. When do I get a day off? I want to have an hour to myself. This fuckin’ sucks.

The only way to shake the gross? Break it down, moment by moment. Instead of spending the ride home worrying about what I’ll make for dinner, I shut up and listen to the Kaiser talk about his day. Rather than rushing through dinner to get him in the bath, I sit down and share tomato soup. When I find myself rushing ahead or losing my focus, I stop, drag myself back to the moment, and let it be.

Some day soon, when it’s a struggle to get the Kaiser to have a conversation with me, when he shrugs off my kisses and shakes my hold on him – these are the moments I’ll remember. The slow moments. Racing trains around the Christmas tree. Slurping soup at the kitchen table. Tossing bananas into the blender for a special smoothie. Holding him close to read a book.

All we have is now, the little wonders of life and the tiniest moments of meaning. Let those pass you by and you’re missing the best parts.

My pal, Carla, tackled the same writing prompt over at her blog. Check it out.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Writing Prompt: Wonders

  1. 😀

    Bird by bird, my love. Little wonder by little wonder. These words, this concept, has helped me immensely in the past few weeks.

    • sarafraser

      Bird by bird is right. It’s amazing how simple life is when you LIVE IN THE NOW. I’m sorry, I channel “Wayne’s World” from time to time.

  2. It’s the essence of Zen, innit? Live in the moment.

    Lovely post, good lady. Hope your holiday season has been, and will continue to be wonderful.

  3. Okay, you are way too quotable…
    “I’ve found that when I break life down into the smallest of moments – everything is manageable.”

    I do believe I’ll need to sticky note this onto my desk. Thanks for your post. It truly is about the small wonders. On that note…I think I’ll pull my rear off this computer and go hang out with my kids.

    Happy new year, sweets.

    • sarafraser

      Yeah, that’s the hardest, to stop writing about life so that you can actually, like, live? Whooooa. Happy New Year to you as well. ❤

  4. Thankyou Sara.
    I think you have just saved my sanity.

Leave a Reply

