Count Your Words

Sara McClung has a great blog at The Babbling Flow of a Fledgling Scribbler. Today she posted on word usage; it’s a good one and you should prolly go read it.

Have you ever counted how many times you use a particular word? No? Head over Wordle and you can find out. It’s cool, I mean, as long as you don’t discover you have a proclivity for typing, “smarmy” or “glance.” I don’t use smarmy, but I think I should. Fun word. I do, however, have a gross tendency to overuse “glance” and “nod.” Nasty, innit?

You can also make a badass word cloud from your gorgeous manuscript. For this one, I copied/pasted my new flash fiction, Ambition:

word cloud o' mine

My Preeeecious

9 Comments

Filed under writing

9 responses to “Count Your Words

  1. My characters look around too damn much. “Looked” was entirely too prominent in my Wordle cloud. Gah!

    I knew that already. It was a nice picture, though. 🙂

    • sarafraser

      I was pleasantly surprised to see that I find anything too yuck. But — I haven’t thrown in the big WIP. I am positive that I have a “glance” habit. How many different ways can you say it?

      She glanced at him.
      She looked at him.
      She gazed at him. (Ehrrr)
      She stared at him. (Creepster)
      She watched him. (See above)

  2. Hmmm, ogled? studied? Scanned? Examined? Spotted? Eyed? Viewed? Glimpsed?

    You know, all that, and I still get stuck writing glance over and over. I bet “Glance” is probably one of the biggest words on my cloud. That and maybe “ass.” And maybe “brow.” Or “shake.” I’m so predictable.

    But I love how you say you have a “glance” habit. Like you need to go to GA or something. You crack me up.

    • sarafraser

      Yeah, sooorta. But all those words imply something slightly different and important enough to matter.

      I like that you use both “ass” and “shake.”

  3. Jamie Seay

    I see my name. It’s big.

  4. Left a little something for you on my blog, sweets! Check it out! http://carol-in-print.blogspot.com/2009/12/have-blog-will-follow.html

    Holy cow, I hadn’t even caught that whole ass and shake thing. Geez, you’re good. Can I clone you?

Leave a Reply

