I’m a Driver. I’m a Winner.*

So, Carol presented me with this award. Thank you!

Hahaha

It's pretty accurate except I grimace when I write.

I’m down with winning, uh, just about anything? When I was in seventh grade, I’d sit next to my radio/tape-player combo and listen to 102 Jamz. I sat there for hours, waiting to click the record button. Yeah, CDs existed. But my mom wouldn’t let me buy JACK that had curse words or sexual references in it. So I’d get a CD and mom would make me a tape, devoid of the offensive song. Yes, it did suck. Like the time I bought the Red Hot Chili Peppers album. I tried to hide it but she sniffed me out, stole it, and made me a tape. Without Under the Bridge. Whaaaaa?

Far better to make a crap recording of the dubbed over nastaaay song. That way, I could at least hear the tune and just shout out the curse words in all appropriate places.

Anyhoo, I was sitting there one night, digging my fingers into the berber carpet and waiting for, “Ain’t Nothin’ But a G Thang” to play. There was a radio contest. I won. It was the best day of my young life. Granted, the prize was a tux rental to the prom and I was 12. I won. It pleased me.

Check out these blogs and thank me immediately:

*Sprechen sie Deutches, baby.

8 Comments

Filed under writing

8 responses to “I’m a Driver. I’m a Winner.*

  1. Thanks. Immediately.

    Congrats on the award too, good lady. 🙂

  2. Hahahah! That’s funny. Reminds me of the time I won tickets to a concert. I was 18 or 19 and I was the second caller! I didn’t find out until I won what it was I won. Had I know, I likely would’ve stabbed my own eyeballs before calling to win tickets to see…Kansas.

    By the way, you totally deserve this award. Your blog is way cool, like Red Hot Chili Peppers cool (with all the bad words intact).

    • sarafraser

      Ah, thank you. (Bad words intact, indeed.)

      Confession: I kinda like Kansas. Only kinda though, so that makes it alright. Right?

  3. Jonathan

    1) I loved 102 Jamz and listened to it all the time
    2) Blood, Sugar, Sex, Magik was my first RHCP album and while I loved it my parents were less thrilled
    3) How did I miss you winning a free tux rental to prom? We totally should have gone.
    4) Snoop and Dre are kings of rap and their old school stuff is irreplaceable.

    • sarafraser

      1. Yep. But see, that’s when rap was GOOD. You remember that ODB song/Mariah Carey song? Glorious.
      2. Yeah. My mom is way more hip now that she was then. I don’t know what’s happening. She’s, like, reverse aging.
      3. I totally did, and gave it to a friend’s older brother.
      4. I concur.

  4. Thanks so much for the link love! You rock and I’m enjoying reading your highly-entertaining mommy chronicles.

Leave a Reply

