Maybe We’ll Find Our Compassion

Last night I watched “Sicko” with the Husband; he was watching for a class. I watched and worked. And became increasingly angry. I went to bed before it was over, because I simply couldn’t take it. The bullshit is astounding. Yes, Michael Moore is a liberal filmmaker. Yes, his films are biased. But no, I don’t think that invalidates his point.

The evils of socialized medicine? Death panels? If you believe this bollocks, you are an idiot.* Plain and simple. Want to see a death panel? Take a look at your insurance company.

Dr. Linda Peeno is well known as an HMO Whistleblower. A decade ago, she testified before congress. Here’s what she said:

I wish to begin by making a public confession: In the spring of 1987, as a physician, I caused the death of a man. Although this was known to many people, I have not been taken before any court of law or called to account for this in any professional or public forum. In fact, just the opposite occurred: I was “rewarded” for this. It bought me an improved reputation in my job, and contributed to my advancement afterwards. Not only did I demonstrate I could indeed do what was expected of me, I exemplified the “good” company doctor: I saved a half million dollars.

I contend that “managed care,” as we currently know it, is inherently unethical in its organization and operation. Furthermore, I maintain that we have an industry which can exist only through flagrant ethical violations against individuals and the public.

Fun Facts:

  • Over the last decade, employer-sponsored health insurance premiums have increased 131 percent.
  • The cumulative increase in employer-sponsored health insurance premiums rose at four times the rate of inflation and wage increases during last decade.
  • A recent study found that 62 percent of all bankruptcies filed in 2007 were linked to medical expenses.  Of those who filed for bankruptcy, nearly 80 percent had health insurance.
  • Contrary to popular (American) opinion, Canadian public opinion polls continue to show strong support for publicly financed, universal health care in Canada.

Maybe our nation will find its compassion, the one true antidote for its health care identity crisis.

*Probably, some of you hate me for this. Probably, I’m OK with that.

4 Comments

Filed under Politics

4 responses to “Maybe We’ll Find Our Compassion

  1. Isn’t it amazing that so many are so willing to be duped without questioning anything? I was remarking the other day to my republican mother — a republican who, like most other republicans, just takes what is said for granted, yet is willing to listen (& even agree at times) with her radical son — about this very thing.

    Instead of the wondrous Homeland Security consulting with those in other countries who know how to secure their airlines without inconveniencing the people paying to get somewhere, they chose to start from scratch. Maybe our airlines are more secure, but fewer people fly, & we all got to bail out our major airlines with our hard-earned tax dollars for the trouble.

    I doubt very much that the rich (those super rich bastards who don’t seem to understand that we ungrateful mobs put food on their tables & make it possiblefor them to take their numerous, lavish vacations every year) will allow the government they control to approve anything which doesn’t continue to make them richer.

    Michael Moore is biased, yes. So am I. But that doesn’t mean that either he or I are wrong.

  2. Sarah

    First things first: I can’t stand Michael Moore. Just like I can’t stand Rush Limbaugh. The extremes on either side make the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. Because of this, I have never watched one of Moore’s documentaries.

    I had to watch Sicko during a class last year. I honestly can’t tell you anything about it because his shaky camera work induced one of the worst migraines I’ve ever had – I ended up running out of class to toss my cookies.

    So I have nothing intelligent to add to your lovely post other than Sicko made me sick. Literally.

    • sarafraser

      Aw, I’m sorry. I didn’t even notice the camera stuff, but then, I was mostly just listening. I can see what you’re saying about Michael Moore. He can be, well, obnoxious. And the hat? Dude. Take. Off. The. Hat.

Leave a Reply

