Meditating on Meditating

“Zen does not confuse spirituality with thinking about God while one is peeling potatoes. Zen spirituality is just to peel the potatoes.” – Alan Watts

Meditate on how cute I am.

Meditate on how cute I am.

Meditation pisses me off. For about a year, I’ve been thinking about maaaybe meditating. Six months ago, I bought a book on Insight Meditation. I read it. Reread it. It’s one of my favorite Buddhist readings, aside from Buddhism and the 12 Steps which is so utterly worn it’s barely readable.

Sunday, I had the day to myself so did a little shopping. I picked up yet another meditation book. “This time,” I thought, “this time I’m going to read a chapter. Meditate. Read another chapter. Meditate again.”

Riiiiight.

The book, aptly named, Meditation: Now or Never makes all the right points. All the points I already get, but chose to ignore. At this point, I’ve only read the first chapter (“True Blood” was on, y’all) but I tried it again last night, the simple meditative act of being completely, undivided in the activity of my moment. I was doing laundry.

Awareness isn’t easy. My thoughts, my inane thoughts flutter through my mind, one after the other at lightning speed. I gently bring my mind back to the present. I breathe. And it’s gone again, fluttering from one unimportant thing to an even more unimportant thing. I bring it back again. Ten more times before I’ve folded a load of clothes, I realize I’m entirely unfocused. And how much more of my life is like that? How much time spent in planning, worrying, considering, remembering – when the only reality is right now?

Coming Soon: Zen & Children

More Reading:

5 Comments

Filed under Buddhism

5 responses to “Meditating on Meditating

  1. Dan Whipkey

    That dude got a tongue!

    My brain goes a million miles an hour..its hard for me to meditate.

  2. sarafraser

    Ditto on that.

    And he’s so stinkin’ cute. I want him. And a goat.

  3. I’ll think I’m doing great…then realize I’ve been thinking about what I would wear to Woodstock if I had the chance to go and why. For an hour. I suck at meditation and sometimes I even think Jesus might be a little irritated bc I do that when I’m praying too. “Dear Jesus, …did I remember to get my lip gloss out of my apron…?”

  4. sarafraser

    Generally when I talk to Jesus it’s a plea for my zits to go away. True story. Has been the same true story since I was, oh, 11. Stop asking about your lipgloss and he might have time to work on my adult ACNE. God, Aubrey. Selflessness, ok?

Leave a Reply

