The Magical Word

My favorite word.

My favorite.

“Did somebody say, ‘fuckin?’” The Kaiser asks and sidesteps into my office. Jed turns to him, shocked. “No! No one said that, Cole,” he stammers.

My eyes widen and I look questioningly at Jed. “Did you?” I ask sharply.

He shakes his head no. “Not this time,” he replies. “Did you?”

I glare at him. “No.”

The Kaiser smiles slightly. “I thought I heard someone say, ‘fuckin.’” He stares at me.

“Stop saying that! No one said that word,” I say. “Don’t say it again, Cole.”

He raises his hands slightly. “But I didn’t say it. It wasn’t me. I didn’t say it.” The Kaiser grins and shrugs. He runs back into the living room and the husband and I are briefly speechless.

“You think he just wanted to say it?” Jed asks.

I nod solemnly. “I’d say that’s a good fuckin’ guess.”

More reading:

4 Comments

Filed under Raising Kids

4 responses to “The Magical Word

  1. Dan Whipkey

    I’m sorry…that’s funny as he’ll

  2. sarafraser

    Don’t be sorry. I’m not….yet.

  3. Jonathan D

    Yeah, that made me laugh. Also made me remember the first time I said “fuck” in front of one of my parents. Good times…

    • sarafraser

      I have only said it to my mother recently. And only in the context of describing someone she hates. And only via phone.

Leave a Reply

